Blog Tour: Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace (Review and Giveaway!)

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Hello and welcome to the Shallow Graves Blog Tour, held by the lovely ladies at Fantasy Flying Book Club! Today, I am going to be talking about my thoughts on Shallow Graves, a book I had really been anticipating. Hope you enjoy and make sure to enter the giveaway at the bottom of this post!

---

Shallow Graves

Author: Kali Wallace
Pages: 368
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Release Date: January 26th 2016
| Amazon | Barnes and Noble | iBooks | Kobo | Book Depository |
For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes. When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes up in a shallow grave one year after her death, she doesn’t remember who killed her or why. All she knows is that she’s somehow conscious—and not only that, she’s able to sense who around her is hiding a murderous past. In life, Breezy was always drawn to the elegance of the universe and the mystery of the stars. Now she must set out to find answers and discover what is to become of her in the gritty, dangerous world to which she now belongs—where killers hide in plain sight and a sinister cult is hunting for strange creatures like her. What she finds is at once empowering, redemptive, and dangerous. Tense, complex, and wholly engaging, Shallow Graves is a stunning first novel from Kali Wallace.

---

I got an eARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. None of my thoughts are altered by this.

I was pretty excited about Shallow Graves thanks to its synopsis. I mean who wouldn't want to read about a girl who comes back from the dead and doesn't remember anything that had to do with her death? Shallow Graves was a really great read. It definitely was not what I expected it to be but I enjoyed it nevertheless. Some very interesting aspects were introduced and I also really liked the characters that showed up in the book and helped Breezy in her coming back from the dead. It was a great paranormal, but I also really loved the mysterious feeling this book gave off, especially with Breezy not remembering who had killed, why she was dead, and why she is even alive. All in all, it was a pretty good read and readers of paranormal will definitely enjoy Shallow Graves.

Breezy was definitely an interesting character to be reading from. Yeah, because she is a person who is now back from the dead but also because she is a mixture of different people. She is so calm and collected but also loves to have fun. She screws around sometimes, but is also a huge astronomy person. I had definitely not expected that from her and it was a pleasant surprise. Her character development within this book was really well written. I really love how Kali writes about that as she begins to learn more about why she is alive and get used to her abilities and what she can now do. I love the position she is in at the end of the book and it really showed how much she has grown due to her situation and that she is okay. 

I mentioned that this book wasn't what I expected it to be and that pretty much came within the plot. I really enjoyed it, but it went in directions that I definitely didn't expect it to. This plot was just as great though. I loved how suspenseful it was and also shady, shall I say. The whole situation this plot had was so shady and at one point I had to keep reading because I needed to find out everything behind this shadiness. 
(Image Source)
I really enjoyed the writing style Kali wrote in! It went from talking in the past then back to real life and this allowed me to read from both the present but also read some stories about Breezy's past. It was definitely different from writing styles I had read from before and it really allows Shallow Grave to stand out a bit. 

There are two things that brought my review down however. 1) The pacing was a bit slow for a while before things started going on and that really let getting into this book take a little longer than I hoped. After that little period of pages, when it was slower, it got faster and it was a lot easier to get into it! 2) The ending kind of bugs me a bit. It was going so well but ended so quickly and kind of felt a bit incomplete. I have so many questions on what happens to x character and what happens to Breezy. It ended but it didn't tie up the story as much as I had hoped it would.

I gave this book 3.5 stars because I really enjoyed the plot and characters but the pacing was a bit off and the ending bugged me a bit.

---

Kali Wallace

Kali Wallace studied geology and geophysics before she decided she enjoyed inventing imaginary worlds as much as she liked researching the real one. Her short fiction has appeared in Clarkesworld, F&SF, Asimov's, Lightspeed Magazine, and Tor.com. Her first novel will be published by Katherine Tegen Books in 2016. She lives in southern California.

---

US ONLY